NOTICE TO PUBLIC - ACCESS TO PUBLIC RECORDS
The Dodge County Sheriff's Office has designated Sheriff Dale J. Schmidt as the legal custodian of the records of the Dodge County Sheriff's Office.
The public may make requests for records or obtain copies of records in the custody of the Dodge County Sheriff's Office at the following place and time:
Dodge County Sheriff’s Office
Attn: Open Records
124 West Street
Juneau, WI 53039
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (except for holidays).
Requests for records need to be submitted in writing. Click here for a printable OPEN RECORDS REQUEST FORM. You may also complete the fill-in form which when submitted will be emailed directly to staff for processing. ONLINE OPEN RECORDS REQUEST FORM
The following fees and costs will be imposed upon the requestor of access to records, photocopies of records, copies of photographs, digital copy of records and all other forms or reproduction of records unless otherwise specifically established or authorized to be established by law:
1. Typical requests for accident reports, incident reports, contact records or other photocopies include a $2.00 reproduction fee. (This fee is calculated at $.25 per page plus postage when applicable.) If the cost exceeds $2.00 you will be notified by email or phone.
2. The cost of an audio CD recording shall be $15.00.
3. The cost of a photo CD shall be $15.00.
4. The cost of a video DVD shall be $25.00.
Payment is appreciated at the time of your request.
The fee is to be paid using cash, check or money order. You may also use a debit card/credit card by following the GovPayNet link below. You may also call GovPayNet and pay by phone at 1-888-604-7888. The service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. There will be a nominal fee charged for the use of the GovPayNet service.
OPEN RECORDS REQUEST FORM and GovPayNet receipt to the following:
Open records fax #920-386-3254
Open records deputy secretary email: firstname.lastname@example.org
In addition to the above, a fee for locating a record, not to exceed the actual, necessary and direct cost of location, based upon the cost of the time of the person who locates the record, but only if the cost of location is $50.00 or more.
The Dodge County Sheriff’s Office may provide copies of a record without charge or at a reduced charge if the Dodge County Sheriff’s Office determines that waiver or reduction of the charge is in the public interest.
Pursuant to Wis. Stat 19.35(3) (f), a pre-payment will be required for reproduction costs if the total is $5.00 or more.
In compliance with the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals decision in Senne v. Vill of Palatine, 695 F.3d 597 (7th Cir. 2012 en ban, cer. pet. filed 11/5/2012), the Dodge County Sheriff’s Office is no longer releasing personal identifying information under the provisions of the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA). Personal identifying information derived from the Department of Motor Vehicles, including an individual’s date of birth, driver’s license number, social security number, home address, home telephone number, photograph and medical or disability information is prohibited from public disclosure unless one of the exceptions apply. These exceptions can found at 18 U.S.C. §2721(b). The above restrictions do not apply to Wisconsin accident reports released in compliance with applicable Wisconsin law.
Records will NOT be released the same day of the request as all requests will be processed in the order they are received and will need to be approved for release by the sheriff or designee.
If you have any questions regarding open records requests, please contact Denise at (920)386-3731.