Occupational Driver's License

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Most occupational licenses are processed directly through the Wisconsin Department of Motor vehicles (DMV).

Some types of occupational licenses, however, need to be processed through the court system. For example, if you are denied an occupational license because you have three OWI type offenses within five years, or 24 or more demerit points within one year, you can petition the circuit court in your county of residence for an occupational license provided that all of the waiting periods have expired.

To apply, you must go in person to the Clerk of Courts office at 210 W. Center Street in Juneau, Wisconsin, Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 4:30pm. You must fill out the petition that you obtain from the clerk. You must bring with you a copy of your driver record, your denial letter from the DMV, your occupational application, and the $40 non-refundable fee. You can obtain a copy of your driver record from DMV by calling (608) 261-2566, or writing to:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Driver Information Section
P.O. Box 7918
Madison, WI 53707-7918

There is a $5 fee for a copy of your driver record.

The court will schedule your application for a hearing. If the court grants your request for an occupational license, you must take the court order to a DMV Service Center. If you meet all other eligibility requirements, your occupational license will be issued.

If you are denied an occupation license because you have two or more revocation/suspension cases from separate incidents within a one year period, you can petition the circuit court in your county of residence for an occupational license. However, even if the court grants your request for an occupation license, DMV will again deny issuance of an occupation license because the law prohibits issuing an occupational license to a person with two revocation/suspension cases from separate incidents, within a one year period.

If you have questions, you may contact the DMV at (608) 266-2261 or email.